The legislature reconvened on Wednesday and new committee appointments were made.  The committees – and committee chairs – that will be particularly important for criminal justice issues are listed below.

Take a minute to see if a member from your area is listed as one of the full or subcommittee chairs.  You can also click on the links to see if  someone from your area is a member of one of these key committees.

Send us an email at if you are willing to help educate key members from your area on critical issues.

Full Appropriations Chairs

Dollar (Wake), Arp (Union), Faircloth (Guilford), Johnson (Cabarrus),  Lambeth (Forsyth)

Rep. Faircloth is a former Justice and Public Safety chair and will continue a JPS focus as a full chair.

Justice and Public Safety Appropriations Chairs
Boles (Moore), Davis (New Hanover), McNeil (Moore), Turner (Iredell)

Department of Health and Human Services Appropriations
Brisson (Bladen, Johnson, Sampson), Dobson (Avery, McDowell, Mitchell), Malone (Wake), Murphy (Pitt)

Judiciary I – Davis (New Hanover)
Judiciary II – Blust (Guilford)
Judiciary III – Co-Chairs  –  Jordan (Ashe, Watauga), Zachary (Alexander, Wilkes, Yadkin)
Judiciary IV – Co-Chairs -Blackwell (Ashe, Watauga), Burr (Montgomery, Stanly, Avery)

Full Appropriations Chairs
Brown (Jones, Onslow), Harrington (Gaston), B. Jackson (Duplin, Johnston, Sampson)

Justice and Public Safety Chairs
Daniel (Burke, Cleveland),  Randleman (Stokes, Surry, Wilkes), Sanderson (Cartaret, Craven, Pamlico)

Senate Judiciary
Co-Chairs – Barringer (Wake), Daniel (Burke, Cleveland), Randleman (Stokes, Surry, Wilkes)